The ASAM Criteria Education

What is The ASAM Criteria?

The ASAM Criteria is the most widely used and comprehensive set of guidelines for placement, continued stay, transfer, or discharge of patients with addiction and co-occurring conditions. Formerly known as the ASAM patient placement criteria, The ASAM Criteria is the result of a collaboration that began in the 1980s to define one national set of criteria for providing outcome- oriented and results-based care in the treatment of addiction. 

Required in over 30 states, The ASAM Criteria is an indispensable resource that addiction medicine professionals rely on to provide a nomenclature for describing the continuum of addiction services. Adolescent and adult treatment plans are developed through a multidimensional patient assessment over five broad levels of treatment that are based on the degree of direct medical management provided, the structure, safety and security provided and the intensity of treatment services provided.

Foundations Course

This foundational course is the recommended first step for counselors, social workers, administrators, and other clinical staff to understand the ASAM Criteria.

Skill Building Course

This 8-hour virtual live course expands on the content discussed within the ASAM Criteria One-Day Foundations course. It is recommended attendees complete the One-Day Foundations course before beginning this course.

Criteria Education Courses for Payers

For the Payer Course, These courses have payers combine the concepts of the ASAM Criteria and utilization management (UM) to determine appropriate level of care as initial requests and continued stay requests. The courses explore treatment planning, case shaping, and other UM principles to help determine placement of patients in the most appropriate and least restrictive level of care.

ASAM Criteria 2-Day Course

This two-day course, offered quarterly, includes the ASAM Criteria One-Day Foundations Course and the ASAM Criteria Skill-Building Course at a discounted rate. Each course provides the tools to utilize the ASAM Criteria with the utmost care and evidence-based practice.

Levels of Care Certification

Certify your treatment program’s ability to deliver a specific level of care.